HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieYour First Listen: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Your First Listen: 11 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Your First Listen, where we show you songs you need to discover this week!

Each week we feature five remarkable songs that you need to hear on Your First Listen on air. In case you miss them on air, you can catch up on the weekly tracks right here. Your First Listen airs Monday to Friday during the following times: 1:50pm / 6:50pm / 8:50pm.

Online, we expand the list with a couple more tunes. This week, we’ve gotten some amazing fresh cuts from huge acts like Bastille, The National, Phoebe Bridgers, and more.

Check out 11 songs you need to discover this week below.

Bastille – “No Bad Days”

Bastille have shared a video for their new single “No Bad Days.” The track comes as part of the announcement of their forthcoming album, Give Me The Future, out February 4th. “Working on these songs in such an apocalyptic period, with everyone stuck at home, glued to screens, fed into the feeling that what is real and what is not has become pretty difficult to discern sometimes,” Smith explains. “We’re in the age of deep fake, fake news and lying world leaders. But online, you can be anyone. What that does to our sense of self and to our relationships is huge and it’s fascinating.”

The National – “Somebody Desperate”

The National are back with their first new material since 2019, “Somebody Desperate.” The haunting new song comes from the forthcoming musical film CYRANO. The film’s score is by the National’s Aaron and Bryce Dessner, and for the end credits, they got the whole band together. “Somebody Desperate” is a sparse, melancholic ballad that sees frontman Matt Berninger’s deep croons at the forefront.

Phoebe Bridgers – “Day After Tomorrow (Tom Waits cover)”

Phoebe Bridgers has shared a new cover of Tom Waits’ “Day After Tomorrow.” This year, Bridgers has covered Tom Waits’ 2004 Real Gone tune “Day After Tomorrow. The melancholic rendition features a large choir, with Blake Mills, Marcus Mumford, Kaitlyn Dever, Harrison Whitford, and more. All of the proceeds from the track will go toward The International Institute Of Los Angeles – The Local Integration & Family Empowerment Division.

Jasmyn – “Find The Light”

Former Weaves frontperson Jasmyn Burke has signed to Toronto’s Royal Mountain Records and Los Angeles’ ANTI- Records. She’s shared her debut solo single as Jasmyn, “Find The Light.” “This song was loosely written during the Fall of 2020,” Jasmyn explains. “The world was feeling pretty heavy, and I felt myself wanting to write music that created a mood of happiness and space to grow. It feels like we’re living in this sort of in-between space, where life is altering. I wanted to explore finding comfort and hopefulness through uncomfortable change. I feel like I have grown and changed as a person over the last few years and wanted to write songs that created a sense of confidence and well-being.”

Kim Gordon – “Grass Jeans”

Former Sonic Youth member Kim Gordon has shared a new single, “Grass Jeans.” Throughout the month of December, all proceeds from the track will go toward Fund Texas Choice. Fund Texas Choice is a non-profit organization that pays for Texans to travel to abortion clinics. Throughout the track, Kim Gordon repeats the phrase, “Take me downtown!/ I want to go/ And the shadow knows it.”

Moses Sumney – “In Bloom (In the Woods)”

Moses Sumney has shared a video for his new track, “In Bloom (In the Woods).” This clip sees Sumney reimagining his græ track “In Bloom” in a stripped down format. “In Bloom (In the Woods)” comes from Sumney’s upcoming live album and film, Live From Blacklachia. “In Bloom (In the Woods)” takes the cinematic instrumentals of the original and give them a lighter twist while staying true to the orchestral sound. This rendition lets Sumney’s unbelievable falsettos truly shine. The lyrics on this version are at the forefront, as he delivers lines like, “As the night becomes dawn/ You and I become one/ You take my face in palm/ And call me the morning sun.”

Conor Gains – “Lightning”

Toronto singer-songwriter Conor Gains released his new single “Lightning” in November. “It is easy to let love drive you crazy but it can also bring you an intense power,” Gains explains. “‘Lightning’ is about that never ending wild goose chase of trying to get on the same page, knowing that when it works it really works and when it doesn’t, well, you’re left in the dirt.”

Chastity, City and Colour – “Vicious Circle”

Chastity has shared a new video for his new single with City & Colour, “Vicious Circle.” The new song comes from the forthcoming chastity album, Suffer Summer, out January 13th via Dine Alone Records and Deathwish. “Vicious Circle” follows the release of “Dying To Live,” “Pummeling,” and “Somersault.” Growing up, Chatity idolized post-hardcore outfit Alexisonfire. A few years later, Alexisonfire took Chastity on the road, and now frontman Dallas Green has collaborated with Chastity “Once the strings were recorded, I felt like the song became too beautiful for my voice honestly,” Chastity says.

Grae – “Outta This World”

Toronto alt-pop artist GRAE is back with her new single, “Outta This World.” The new track serves as the follow-up to her 2020 EP, Permanent Maniac. “Outta This World” is a hazy pop anthem with bubbly, fun production. The groove-driven track boasts a super catchy hook that’s sure to get you dancing. On “Outta This World,” GRAE sings of falling for someone new. “Inspired by the 00s dirty pleasure track, ‘How Bizarre,’ ‘Outta This World’ is a dorky song about the spark you get when meeting someone new,” GRAE explains. “It’s a feel-good, doesn’t-take-itself-too-seriously, tune about fascination & lust. We had so much fun writing it, & I’m so excited to play it live.”

Oliver Tree – “Life Goes On”

Oliver Tree’s “Life Goes On” came out on the deluxe version of his hit 2020 album, Ugly Is Beautiful. The deluxe edition featured seven new tracks, including “Out Of Ordinary” and “Life Goes On.” “Life Goes On” is a dreamy, hazy tune with catchy, silky vocals.

Boyish – “Smithereens”

Brooklyn queer indie duo Boyish are back with a new single, “Smithereens.” The track marks their first release since their new EP, We’re all gonna die but here’s my contribution. “‘Smithereens’ was written very fast compared to other songs we’ve written,” Boyish explain. “Basically, the melody and chords came in a one hour writing session. We wanted to write something with a similar groove of ‘Swingin Party’ by The Replacements so we started with a drum groove and then a chord progression and then the melody just flew out. We usually take a lot of time to write so we were both pretty taken aback when suddenly this song just existed.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular