HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieYour First Listen: 13 songs you need to discover this week

Your First Listen: 13 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Your First Listen, where we show you songs you need to discover this week!

Each week we feature five remarkable songs that you need to hear on Your First Listen on air. In case you miss them on air, you can catch up on the weekly tracks right here. Your First Listen airs Monday to Friday during the following times: 1:50pm / 6:50pm / 8:50pm.

Online, we expand the list with a couple more tunes. This week, we’ve gotten some amazing fresh cuts from FKA twigs, Muse, Mitski, Jack White, and more.

Check out 13 songs you need to discover this week below.

FKA twigs – “Jealousy”

FKA twigs’ collaboration with Rema, “Jealousy,” comes from her new mixtape CAPRISONGS. With a groove-driven instrumental and catchy percussion, “Jealousy” is sure to get you dancing. FKA twigs’ dreamy falsettos juxtapose Rema’s grittier vocal lines perfectly. In an interview with Zane Lowe on Apple Music 1, FKA twigs explains that she made “Jealousy” out of conversations with El Guincho, who produced the mixtape. “We got in, we finished it, and then we were like, ‘Oh, it could really have someone else in the second verse,” twigs explains of “Jealousy.” “El Guincho was like, Rema.”

Muse – “Won’t Stand Down”

UK rock trio Muse are back with their first new song in four years, “Won’t Stand Down.” The anthemic arena rocker is all about “standing your ground against bullies, whether that be on the playground, at work or anywhere,” Muse frontman Matt Bellamy explains. “Protecting yourself from coercion and sociopathic manipulation and to face adversity with strength, confidence, and aggression.”

Mitski – “Love Me More”

Mitski has shared a surreal video for her danceable new single, “Love Me More.” “As ‘Love Me More’ was written pre-pandemic, lyrics like ‘If I keep myself at home’ had different meanings than what they would now, but I kept them on the album because I found that some of the sentiments not only remained the same, but were accentuated by the lockdown,” Mitski explains.

The Weeknd – “Sacrifice”

The Weeknd is back with his new album, Dawn FM, out now via XO/Republic Records. The Weeknd calls the album a “sonic experience.” Dawn FM serves as the follow-up to 2020’s explosive hit, After Hours. The 16-track, collab-heavy collection features contributions from Tyler, the Creator, Lil Wayne, Quincy Jones, Oneohtrix Point Never, and Jim Carrey. The record welcomes listeners into the “painless transition” of the great beyond. All in all, the record is definitely more of a dance-worthy collection than its predecessor. Sacrifice is definitely a standout on the album.

The Smile – “You Will Never Work In Television Again”

The Smile have shared their debut single, “You Will Never Work In Television Again.” Made up of Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons Of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, The Smile have dropped their first official release. The band previewed “You Will Never Work In Television Again” at last year’s Glastonbury event Live At Worthy Farm. Now the Nigel Godrich-produced track has gotten an official release. The song also comes accompanied by a lyric video from Duncan Loudon.

Father John Misty – “Funny Girl”

Father John Misty has shared “Funny Girl,” the first single from his forthcoming album, Chloë and the Next 20th Century. “Funny Girl” is a lush, cinematic piano ballad. Tillman’s quintessential croons take the lead as the track swells into a romantic, orchestral anthem. Lyrically, Tillman delivers lines like, “Funny girl, your schedule’s pretty crazy/ Doing interviews for the new live action Cathy.”

Jack White – “Love Is Selfish”

Jack White has shared a video for his new single, “Love Is Selfish.” White is readying the release of two new albums this year. The first is a “really hard” rock album called Fear of the Dawn, and the second is a “very mellow” acoustic record, Entering Heaven Alive. Today’s release, “Love Is Selfish,” is the first preview from the second album. The tender ballad is a soothing, emotional, acoustic guitar-driven track. The accompanying video for “Love Is Selfish” is directed by White himself. With hazy shots of White performing in an American Legion, the cinematic video is definitely a must-watch.

Angel Olsen – “Something On Your Mind”

Angel Olsen has shared a brand new cover of Karen Dalton’s “Something On Your Mind.” Olsen’s love for Karen Dalton is no secret. Last fall, Olsen read the late folk singer’s journals aloud for the documentary, In My Own Time. Now, she’s shared her own rendition of “Something On Your Mind” for Light In The Attic’s Cover Series. “‘Something On Your Mind,’ for me, is about letting yourself face something that keeps setting you back,” Olsen explains.

Lo Moon – “Dream Never Dies”

Los Angeles indie rockers Lo Moon made their return with their first new song in three years, “Dream Never Dies.” “As I get older, I’ve become more and more nostalgic about my youth,” Matt Lowell explains of the track. “I had way less anxiety, I didn’t fear losing the people closest to me, or have to face the bigger questions of life. Hope and optimism were just a little bit easier back then. I work hard not to let the complexities of life suck the hope out of me. This song, if nothing else, is a reminder to try my best and not let that happen.”

Tallies – “No Dreams of Fayres”

Toronto trio Tallies are back with a video for their new single, “No Dreams of Fayres.” The new single serves as the first new music since 2019’s Tallies. “No Dreams of Fayres” takes their quintessential ethereal sound and amps up the shimmering guitars. The Graham Walsh and Dylan Frankland-produced track is truly a dream pop anthem. The track is all about frontwoman Sarah Cogan’s struggles with depression.

Long Range Hustle – “Half Speed”

Long Range Hustle have shared a video for their new track “Half Speed.” The intimate new track is all about dealing with grief. “‘Half Speed’ is a song about the banality of grief,” Long Range Hustle explain. “So often in popular media, grief and loss are portrayed in vivid cinematography with IMAX scope. But the day-to-day reality of losing those closest to you is that it is filled with repetitive paperwork, sorting through mail, and cleaning out refrigerators. I felt like there needed to be a more honest song about mourning in the world. And while grief is painful it is something worth relishing, for the greater tragedy would be to feel nothing at all.”

Pavement – “Be The Hook”

Pavement have announced a 45-track reissue of their fifth and final album called Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal. To preview the collection, they’ve shared the previously unreleased track, “Be The Hook.” Out on April 8th via Matador, Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal will feature the remastered original album, B-sides, home demos, rehearsal tapes, live recordings, and rough tracks. All-in-all, the huge reissue boasts a whopping 28 unreleased tracks.

Spoon – “Wild”

Spoon have shared a black-and-white video for their new track, “Wild.” “Wild” is set to appear on their forthcoming album, Lucifer On The Sofa, out February 11th via Matador. On the new single, frontman Britt Daniel delivers deep grunts and croons atop slowly building instrumentals. Today’s release is a huge rock song that doesn’t feel confined to the restrictions of the genre.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular